Jul. 8, 2014

Background and Program Objectives

The Heritage Youth Researcher Summer (HYRS) Program is an intensive, six-week summer science program for high school students in Alberta. HYRS offers Alberta students who have completed grade 11 the opportunity to do hands-on scientific research in labs and research centres at three campuses: the University of Alberta in Edmonton, the University of Calgary, and the University of Lethbridge.

Applications Received

The response to the 2014 Heritage Youth Researcher Summer (HYRS) Program was excellent with 211 applications from 76 schools throughout the province. We are especially grateful to all the teachers who were references for the students. We truly appreciate your efforts and look forward to meeting you at the HYRS Teacher’s Lunch and Celebration Open House at the end of our program this summer.

This year, we were able to accept additional students into the HYRS program due to additional funding provided by the Alberta Cancer Foundation (ACF). ACF will be funding five students: two at University of Alberta, two at University of Calgary and one at University of Lethbridge. An asterisk (*) above a student’s surname indicates ACF funding.

Review Process

On May 5, 2014, the HYRS adjudication committee members, comprised of four teachers from St. Albert, Lethbridge, Calgary, and Edmonton—and two scientists from the Universities of Calgary and of Alberta—met to select the 50 applicants for HYRS 2014. In total, 22 HYRS positions are at the University of Alberta, 22 are at the University of Calgary, and six students are at the University of Lethbridge.

Our Congratulations

On behalf of the AIHS CEO and Board of Directors, we would like to thank all applicants for their substantial efforts and congratulate the recipients of these awards. AIHS also wishes to acknowledge the tremendous assistance provided by its adjudication committee members in the assessment of the HYRS applications and their important contribution to the organization’s mission.

The following students are HYRS participants for summer 2014:

HYRS Program 2014 – University of Alberta
HYRS Program 2014 – University of Calgary
HYRS Program 2014 – University of Lethbridge

HYRS Program 2014 – University of Alberta

Student First Name Student Last Name Community High School Mentor
AmbikaAgrawalEdmontonOld Scona Academic High SchoolMadsen, Karen L.
AnnaBondarEdmontonArchbishop MacDonald High SchoolCrites Battie, Michele C.
DavidCampbell*EdmontonJasper Place High SchoolLewis, John D.
StephaneChenardPeace RiverGlenmary SchoolWebber, Christine A.
AswathyHariharanEdmontonStrathcona Composite High SchoolAcker, Jason P.
DanielaHernandezEdmontonStrathcona Composite High SchoolLeslie, Elaine M.
SofiaHidalgoEdmontonLouis St. Laurent Junior/Senior High SchoolLopaschuk, Gary D.
JohannahKoEdmontonEdmonton Christian High SchoolDavidge, Sandra T.
AndreaLinEdmontonOld Scona Academic High SchoolParent, Eric C.
VivianMah*EdmontonM.E. Lazerte High SchoolHitt, Mary M.
RohanManaloorCamroseCamrose Composite High SchoolSeubert, John M.
AbigailMillsEdmontonVimy Ridge AcademyRayat, Gina R.
AlisonParadisEdmontonMother Margaret Mary High SchoolSimmonds, Andrew J.
KajalPatelGrande PrairieGrande Prairie Composite High SchoolPostovit, Lynne-Marie
MidhatRizviEdmontonMcNally High SchoolEl-Bialy, Tarek
VictoriaSajtovichGrande PrairieGrande Prairie Composite High SchoolHughes, Sarah C.
AndrewSchroederSherwood ParkStrathcona Christian Academy Secondary SchoolEl-Bialy, Tarek
HattieShuEdmontonLillian Osborne High SchoolLight, Peter E.
MorganSosniukEdmontonArchbishop MacDonald High SchoolWest, Lori J.
MeganStefnerSt. AlbertSt. Albert Catholic High SchoolField, Catherine J.
JoAnnThaiEdmontonLillian Osborne High SchoolFernandez-Patron, Carlos A.
AndreaWernySlave LakeRoland Michener Secondary SchoolVederas, John C.

HYRS Program 2014 – University of Calgary

Student First Name Student Last Name Community High School Mentor
DivyaBudihalCalgaryHenry Wise Wood High SchoolEdwards, W. Brent
MirandaCacicCalgaryBishop Carroll High SchoolLees-Miller, Susan P.
AngelaChenCalgaryHenry Wise Wood High SchoolTrang, Tuan
AmyEvansCanmoreCanmore Collegiate High SchoolHart, David A.
LucasFabbriCanmoreCanmore Collegiate High SchoolTeskey, G. Campbell
BrittneyGerlock*CalgaryWestmount Charter SchoolGoodarzi, Aaron A.
JohannaHaesekerCalgaryCentennial High SchoolTang, Patricia A.
NatashaKornak*CalgarySpringbank Community High SchoolCulos-Reed, S. Nicole
BrittaniKwokCalgaryBishop Carroll High SchoolGhosh, Subrata
DillonLeeCalgaryWestern Canada High SchoolCareem, Faizal
AlexanderLiCalgaryQueen Elizabeth High SchoolGhosh, Subrata
Chuyang (Aaron)LinCalgaryJohn G. Diefenbaker High SchoolHarrison, Joe J.
SamuelMaclennanCalgaryRundle College Junior/Senior HighWilson, Richard J.
ShawnMatthiesRed Deer CountyLindsay Thurber Comprehensive High SchoolBenzies, Karen M.
PaulRiekAirdrieQueen Elizabeth High SchoolHerzog, Walter
JudieShangCalgaryWestern Canada High SchoolMacNaughton, Wallace K.
MasoomaTahirCalgaryCrescent Heights High Schoolvan der Meer, Frank
KateTanCalgaryBishop Grandin High SchoolSyed, Naweed I.
MeganTehCalgarySir Winston Churchill High SchoolKutz, Susan
AshleyWeleschukCalgaryBishop McNally High SchoolExner, Derek V.
TingtingYanCalgarySir Winston Churchill High SchoolDukelow, Sean P.
SabrinaYuCalgaryDr. E.P. Scarlett High SchoolRolian, Campbell P.

HYRS Program 2014 – University of Lethbridge

Student First Name Student Last Name Community High School Mentor
LindsayAmattoLethbridgeCatholic Central High SchoolGibb, Robbin L.
NathanielBlyLethbridgeLethbridge Collegiate InstituteKolb, Bryan E.
TiffanyDangLethbridgeWinston Churchill High SchoolWieden, Hans-Joachim
ShannonHealyLethbridgeLethbridge Collegiate InstituteSutherland, Robert J.
EmilyMilderLethbridgeCatholic Central High SchoolWhishaw, Ian Q.
SallyXu*LethbridgeWinston Churchill High SchoolKothe, Ute

This list of successful applications is provided for information purposes only. The formal offer of award letter will serve as AIHS’s official decision should there be any discrepancy with material presented on the website. Awards are subject to the agreement of the Terms and Conditions of the award.

*Denotes an award supported by the Alberta Cancer Foundation (ACF)

Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

For more information:
Carla Weyland, B.Comm, Lead, Industry & Technology Initiatives
(780) 429-9331