Meet our executive team, senior staff and supporting staff.

General information and reception 780-423-5727 or email:

Executive Team

Vice President, Finance & Corporate Secretary

Maureen Fromhart, CMA
(780) 429-9330

Maureen has over 15 years progressive accounting and managerial experience and has worked in various industries such as oil and gas, mining and manufacturing. Her most recent roles include VP Finance for an arctic marine transportation company and VP and General Manager for the Canadian operations of Wood Group Pressure Control.

Maureen completed her Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Saskatchewan in 1997. Subsequently she sat on the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association in various roles including President. She currently acts as the representative for the Alumni Association in Edmonton. Maureen also serves as Treasurer for various community organizations.

Accounting Coordinator

Joanna Jiang
(780) 306-1328

Manager, Corporate Accounting

Wendy Knight
(780) 429-6881

Vice President of Health

Tim Murphy, MBA
(780) 429-6882

Tim has more than 20 years of senior executive leadership experience in the health care sector. Prior to coming on board with AIHS, Tim established a consultant business with clients including the CHILD Foundation, the Institute for Health System Transformation and Sustainability, and Movember. Tim was the inaugural Senior Vice President at the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research in Vancouver, and has been a senior manager at both the Princess Margaret Hospital (1992‐1997) and the British Columbia Cancer Agency (1997‐2002).

Tim holds a Bachelor of Science Degree, Life Sciences from Queen’s University (1989); a Master’s of Health Administration from the University of Toronto (1992); and, a Master’s of Business Administration from Queen’s University (2006). In 2007, he received his Certified Management Accountant (CMA) designation.


Executive Director, Performance Management & Evaluation (PME)

Kathryn Graham, PhD
(780) 429-9338

Research Librarian

Liza Chan
(780) 429-9328

Manager, Performance Management & Evaluation (PME)

Heidi Chorzempa
(780) 429-7656

Senior Health Research Evaluator, Performance Management & Evaluation (PME)

Shannon Cunningham
(780) 306-2392

Associate Director, Performance Management & Evaluation (PME)

Deanne Langlois-Klassen
(780) 429-6892

Cy Frank Fellowship

Maxi Miciak
(587) 786-6272

Executive Assistant

Cheryl-Ann Orr
(780) 429-6875

Director, Performance Management & Evaluation (PME)

Susan Shaw
(780) 306-1151

Executive Director, Information Technology

Brent Ives, MBA
(780) 429-6884

Business Analyst, IT

Maureen Hagan
(780) 429-6888

Systems Analyst, IT

Malcolm Tough
(780) 429-9348

Manager, Health & Health Care Initiatives

Ulrich Wolfaardt
(780) 306-1100

Director, Human Resources

Angela Kucek, B.Comm, CHRP
(780) 429-7673


Jacqueline Astorga
(780) 423-5727

Human Resources Advisor

Lanelle Berardi
(780) 429-7672

Director, Platforms

Tammy Mah-Fraser, DrPH, MS
(780) 429-9343

Project Officer, Alberta Clinical Research Consortium (ACRC)

Ronda Danchak, CCRP
(780) 429-6887

Project Officer, Alberta Clinical Research Consortium (ACRC)

Tamara Murray
(780) 429-6897

Associate Director, Research Ethics

Wendy Burrill
(780) 429-7674

Ethics Coordinator, Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta - Cancer Committee

Rakhi Chandra
(587) 773-7531

Senior Administrator

Marguerite Denman
(780) 429-6879

Ethics Coordinator, Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta - Clinical Trials Committee

Marcia Escaravage
(780) 429-7654

Manager, A Project Ethics Community Consensus Initiative (ARECCI)

Don Flaming
(780) 306-1167

Ethics Intake Coordinator, Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta

Bindya Mathew
(780) 306-1153

Ethics Intake Coordinator, Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta

Magda Piwowarczyk
(780) 429-7670

Ethics Intake Coordinator, Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta

Lyndsey Smetaniuk
(780) 306-2382

Senior Manager, Communications

Karen Gilchrist
(780) 429-7653

Manager, Media Relations

Dwayne Brunner
1 (877) 423-5727 ext. 224

Communications Officer

Jon Hagan
(780) 429-9345

Executive Assistant

Lisa Laferriere
(780) 429-6890


Scarlet Mack
(780) 429-6894

Communications Officer

Mary McIntyre
(587) 773-7532

Communications Manager, Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit

Michelle Mondeville
(587) 773-7529

Lead, Industry & Technology Initiatives

Carla Weyland, B.Comm
(780) 429-9331

Officer, Grants Processing

Mike Christen
(780) 809-2557

Lead, Partnered Solutions

Bindi Ferguson
(780) 306-1099

Officer, Academic Initiatives

Tara McCarthy
(780) 429-9337

Manager, Alberta Cancer Prevention Legacy Fund (ACPLF)

Andreia Moretzsohn
(780) 429-9342

Senior Coordinator, Grants Processing

Kathy Morrison
(780) 429-7655

Manager, Health & Health Care Initiatives

Kirby Scott
(780) 429-6893

Officer, Industry & Technology

Nicole Tjepkema
(780) 429-6891